APF Links, Discussion and Support, GH Health Benefits, Letters, Patient Stories, PBAC Links

Online Question 1 – “How well your treatment works” – My answer

I haven’t got my online submission in yet, but I’m drafting it today so I can enter it online on Tuesday, before the deadline on Wednesday. Hopefully others are doing the same. Some stars have already got theirs in !! I’m still struggling to find the right words (hard to believe I know, considering my ramblings here !) But if people wanted to share bits of their answers here, it would really help !

This is the link to the ONLINE  PBAC  FORM;
http://www.health.gov.au/internet/main/publishing.nsf/Content/PBAC_online_submission_form
More advice about how to fill out the online form here;
http://www.pituitary.asn.au/News/AdultGrowthHormoneAdvocacy.aspx

For example what was your response to;

Q1: “What treatment (if any) are you using now?
Please describe what medicines you take to treat your health problem and how well this treatment works.”

This is my current draft;

“Somatropin – I have only recently started taking Genotropin.  Although I have a history of Cushing’s disease, and two unsuccessful pituitary surgeries, with subsequent increasing malaise and fatigue, I was only diagnosed with growth hormone deficiency (GHD) in March  this year via an Insulin Tolerance Test (ITT). I do not take any other medications for my pituitary disease, and only have the support of various vitamins and minerals.  I started on a low dose of growth hormone (GH) 0.1mg / night about a month ago (09-05-2011) , and have now gradually increased to 0.2mg which has brought me into the normal range of IGF-1. Already I have started to notice a difference as I am able to get through a 6 hour day of work without needing to sleep for an hour before I drive home, and I am becoming more willing to go out socially and exercise. My endocrinologist has given me approval to increase to 0.3mg / night to further increase my energy, as I have had no adverse side effects.”

“I measured various parameters before I started growth hormone replacement (GHR), such as lipids, V02Max, muscle strength, cognitive tests etc, so that I could compare them when I am further into my GH therapy.  But at this stage I cannot comment on these as I’m told it can take 3-6 months for established effects.  I anticipate however that I am likely to gain further energy and well-being as the GH makes changes to my body; building muscle and bone, regulating my glucose balance and lipids, assisting my brain to manage it’s processes better as I get better sleep, and am able to exercise more.  With this, I hope, will come greater confidence to interact with others, as my appearance will improve, and I will have the energy and clarity to interact well.”

Does anyone else have any answers to Q1 that they’d like to share ?  Did you fill the 1340 character limit ?  I’d love to know !

You can post a bit of your answer below (click on “Leave a Comment”) ……

Thanks ! Kathryn

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a comment